Replies

UCS with ISCSI storage issue

engmo83
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am new to UCS

we have an issue to reach ISCSI  storage form a ESXI 7u2  installed on  a  UCS

I am using appliance port configured as access mode and connected directly to ISCS storage.

each fabric is connected to one SP directly (no switch no router and MTU is 1500 one both sides ).

appliance port using VLAN 10.

I add also VLAN10  to the VNIC template which is attached to service profile for every server.

the storage is VNX5300.

can nay one help me to solve this issue

5 Replies 5

Steven Tardy
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

What are you trying to do with the iSCSI storage?

Sounds like you are simply trying to connect to the iSCSI target on the VNX as a VMware ESXi datastore.

If you connect directly to each Fabric Interconnect (FI) and the destination IP is connected to the "other" Fabric Interconnect (FI), then the traffic must go upstream. Was VLAN10 allowed upstream?

Can you `ping` the iSCSI targets?

What are the MAC addresses of each endpoint? Are those MAC addresses learned on each FI?

As a best-practice for a "HA" iSCSI topology you should have two VLANs/IP-ranges one on FI-A and one on FI-B. That provides redundancy in case one endpoint fails and has the added benefit of keeping the network traffic "local" to each FI.

After that it's just configure from the two endpoints (VMware ESXi and VNX) like you would any other iSCSI target.

Hello Steven,

yes right we are trying to attach datastores form  VNX storage.

your second question: do you mean uplink port by upstream ?

no I can't ping the storage

No mac address is not added to the appliance port. is this mandatory ?

in ESXi host I add 2 vkernal ports and I bind it to software iscsi

Thanks

Sounds like a Layer 2 issue.

You should not need to manually configure the MAC Address on the Appliance Port.

Does arp complete? Does ESXi have an arp entry (`esxcli network ip neighbor list`) for the iSCSI IP?