Views
Helpful
Replies

Call Forward with Shared Line

Daniel Williams
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All!

We are working with a UC560 with Software Pack 8.1.0.  Incoming PRI with DID.

I have a client that wants all phones to ring when their main DID is called.  Then they would like to be able to forward that line to the answering service from any phone. 

They are a small shop and never forward at any certain time.  Even if a person is currently on the main line I need a new incoming call to continue to ring all calls so that takes out the shared line (at least in CME...not sure about UC500 behavior).  I am at a loss as to the best way to procede.  I am hoping someone out there has run into this before.

They have a three year support contract on this system but for the life of me I cannot find a place to open a SMB TAC case online.  Do you use the regular support website?  I am new to these small systems.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Dan

4 Replies 4

Ryan Hardy
Level 4
Level 4

Setup a shared line extension (octo line) and put it on button 2 off all the phones.  An octo line will rings all extensions sharing even if the first channel is used.  Since it's a button, they can get dialtone off it and press call forward all softkey to fwd when they need.  Point the DID to the shared extension and you should be good. 

David Trad
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Dan,

Ryan has pointed you in the right direction on that one, just keep in mind that SPA-500 series phones are only Dual lines and not Octo

Opening up a support case can be done HERE

NOTE: This requires you to log in with your Cisco CCO