cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie question on UC560 voice system. Problem registering phones.

Brandon Smith
Level 1
Level 1

Hello.  I am a newcomer to the professional IT world, and have fairly limited experience with voice and networking.  My boss has assigned me the task of implementing our new voice system, and seeing as I'm the one IT guy here it all falls in my lap .  I'm having an issue with the UC560 voice system registering our SPA508G IP phones.  I believe the problem is that the UC560 IP address (192.168.10.1) lies on a different subnet than the phones (192.168.1.x).  I am also unable to access the UC560 from my office computer through CCA since it also lies on a different subnet.  Can anyone guide me in the right direction to fixing this so that the Cisco Configuration Agent telephony wizard picks up the IP phones automatically?  Thank you!

64 Replies 64

Hi Brandon,

The network diagram was a great insight and much needed

I am though at a little loss as to why you have both an ASA and the Sonic in the network, was there a specific reason to have two firewalls? What is each one of then doing?? I am sure you are aware of it, but the ASA is a much more powerful unit and could pretty do what the Sonic is doing without a hassle.

However with the way the network topology is setup now, we will have to reconsider a couple of things... I am going to have to think this through a little because it will also depend on what you want the UC to do, if it is just straight pure telephony without any Internet capabilities things might be a little simpler, but if you have to do full integration this might get a bit messy.

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *

David,