cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie question on UC560 voice system. Problem registering phones.

Brandon Smith
Level 1
Level 1

Hello.  I am a newcomer to the professional IT world, and have fairly limited experience with voice and networking.  My boss has assigned me the task of implementing our new voice system, and seeing as I'm the one IT guy here it all falls in my lap .  I'm having an issue with the UC560 voice system registering our SPA508G IP phones.  I believe the problem is that the UC560 IP address (192.168.10.1) lies on a different subnet than the phones (192.168.1.x).  I am also unable to access the UC560 from my office computer through CCA since it also lies on a different subnet.  Can anyone guide me in the right direction to fixing this so that the Cisco Configuration Agent telephony wizard picks up the IP phones automatically?  Thank you!

64 Replies 64

Thank you for all the wonderful help David.  One more question for now:  Can you explain smart port roles to me?  I assume I should have the port that connects the UC560 to the sf 300 switch set to the "Switch" role? 

Hi Brandon,

This is correct, and all the ports on the SF-300 set to Phone+Desktop

except the trunk ports

Cheers,

David.

"Sent from my Acer Iconia A500"

On Mar 3, 2012 12:53 AM, "smitbrandon2" <

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *

Hmm..having trouble finding smart port options on the SF 300 switch.  Does this have smart port roles?

Edit:  Also, CCA is telling me there is a conflicting port role for the port that I have connected to the SF 300.  It says "conflicting port role, remote device: ipphone, applied role: switch, suggested role: ipphone + desktop.  Any suggestions?