Views
Helpful
Replies

spa921 rebooting continually.

dootdeedoo
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I've been using a linksys spa921 for about 6 months now.  I love it.

Unfortunatly, I've been having issues with it recently.

In the last few days, it starts rebooting spontaneously.  The red light at the top goes on, as well as the mute light and the speaker light.  Then, the phone shuts down and starts up again, usually unsuccessfully - I need to unplug it and plug it in again.

I've done a factory reset a number of times.  It works for a day or so, but then the problem starts again.

I've tried to update the firmware, but I am unable to do this.  I keep getting "upgrade failed: no response from the SPA"

I've seen online that this has been an issue with some people, and the advice is always to upgrade the firmware.

What should I do.  help!

10 Replies 10

David Carr
Level 6
Level 6

Danilo,

Do you have an option of plugging directly into the phone and upgrading the firmware being directly connected to the phone.

This way we can eliminate the possiblity of a ip conflict and you shouldn't have any issues upgrading it.

ok.  but now we get to see how much of a newbie I am....

I plug the phone directly into my laptop (this is what you mean, right?), and it just hangs on "checking DNS" after having hung on "initializing network" for a few mins

ok.  I connect my laptop to the phone.  Even though it still hangs on "checking DNS", I was able to go into the settings and

check its IP.  I was able to log into the phone using the web interface.

When I try to update the firmware, I get the same thing - no response from the SPA

Danilo,

Check your current firmware on your 921 and check the version you are trying to upgrade to. I'm assuming everyone's on the same IP subnet?

Hope to hear from you soon.

Lindsey

I'm assuming that this is under "software version" in the web interface.  It's telling me 4.1.10 (b)

I'm trying to upgrade to 5.1.8

I'm on the same subnet