cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UC560 where to start?

j-belanger
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, hope someone could help me on this one... We just received a UC560 with 2 cisco phones. One 514G and one 7962. This is just a demo product that cisco sent us so we can try it in our environment and if it does the job then we might purchase multiple phones and UC560.

But where to start? I downloaded the Cisco configuration assistant from Cisco download page and I can communicate with the UC560 and I can see the phones in the software too but they are coming as unregistered and I cannot find where to register them.

Any help would be appreciate... I'm just a beginner in the VoIP world...

Thanks in advance.

Jas

4 Replies 4

johschaf
Level 4
Level 4

Hello,

If this is an initial configuration I would suggest doing the Telephony Setup Wizard("TSW"), which will walk you through the initial configuration. If you skip the TSW, you can configure the phones manually under Configure -> Telephony -> Users and Extensions -> Users and Phones. If the UC has auto detected the phones, you might see the phones there, but with no info next to the extension and user information. If you don't see anything there, add the phones in then.

Since you are using a 560, I'm assuming you have a switch to connect the phones to the UC? You will need to make sure you have Vlan100 on the switch to support the phones. If the switch is a Cisco Small Business switch you should be able to add it to the CCA site, which will then allow CCA to manage the switch.

Thanks,

-john

So far the phones are on VLAN100 and are detected by the UC560 and I was able to assign an extension to them but the phones are staying unregistered.  I used the TSW to do the initial setup and it worked without any problems but I cannot get rid of the unregistered thing.  I found that it can happen when the phones are not provisioned.  The UC560 has all the config of the 2 phones so the phones should register isn't?