cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Using UC320W with SLM2008, SRW2024 and WRVS4400N

chrisguertin
Level 1
Level 1

This question has a bit of a broad scope, but I am a total newbie to VLANs despite being an IT consultant for 28 years now... The network was never my focus until now.

1. Using the hardware in the subject line, can I propagate the Voice and Data VLANs all over the network successfully?
  2. How the heck do I configure the VLANs on those 3 devices? The regular setup manuals leave me a lost.
  3. The WRVS4400N is the old hardware (v1) and cannot be set up with 2 or more Wi-Fi SSIDs. I could scrap it from my office/demo network given it's low cost (it served well for years as my main router and is now just a switch and AP). What AP would you suggest to extend the UC320W's wireless network (voice and data VLANs) into signal-challenged parts of a building? Can a Wi-Fi connection even be tagged with a VLAN ID?
  4. The old SRW2024 looks a lot like one of the new SG300s. Can it be firmware upgraded to the the same level? Will it then do this magic CDP stuff and set up it's own VLANs?
  5. I need to have something that works well at the end of the day as it will be my own production system (torture tested by my family of 7) and a demonstration site for my clients to come and "play" before they buy. I am looking to add telephony to my long-standing IT practice.

So I need both help and opinions. Should I keep or scrap some or all of this gear? How do I configure the VLANs on those older devices?

Any and all help appreciated.

Thanks folks.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Chris,