Views
Helpful
Replies

Anyconnect error message "A new network interface has been detected."

yuksel92
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to DART logs and troubleshooting them. We had a problem with one of our customers who is coming us trough a Client to Site VPN connection via Anyconnect client. Their VPN connection was terminated, when i check the Anyconnect event logs at the certain time the problem happened, i see some sort of logs like "A new network interface has been detected."(Information), then a log with Warning level "Reconfigure reason code 15:New network interface." and then a log "The entire VPN connection is being reconfigured."(Information) What can cause this logs and what can be the issue at the client side?

3 Replies 3

Rahul Govindan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Any Chance that the user moved from Wireless to Wired or added a new network adapter device? That's what the message usually means. This should not cause a disconnect, but if the routing table changes to affect VPN connection, it is possible. AnyConnect has network interface detection whenever a new network interface comes up on the device. 

Having the same issue on multiple laptops. Same reason 15. Any help will be appreciated. 

Garry Cross
Level 1
Level 1

I also am curious of this behavior. Often when I connect I get several reconnecting messages.

I have a suspicion it is to do with the wifi adapter. I am using a wired connection.

I get the reconnecting message twice.

The anyconnect.txt from the DART package reveals the following.

VPN state:Connected

A new network interface has been detected

VPN state:Reconnecting

A network interface address has gone down.

A new network interface has been detected

VPN state:Reconnecting

Inspecting the other messages there, reveals that there are 4 ipv6 addresses associated with my "Wi-Fi" adapter.

After the message about a network interface address has gone down, that 2 of 4 ipv6 addresses are not listed on the "Wi-Fi" adapter.