Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Anyconnect VPN with Microsoft CA and a Public certificate

Hi there,

I'm looking for a bit of help with a scenario. I'm no networking expert by any stretch and I won't be implementing this myself but I need to try and understand if what I'm looking for is possible.

We're implementing an Anyconnect VPN with certificate authentication from our own internal Microsoft CA. I have a product that will distribute certificates from a template to the mobile devices rather than the ASA itself. We've got the our CA certificate and an identity certificate on the ASA and the authentication works.

However, the Anyconnect IOS app complains of an untrusted VPN.

So from there I get that I need a public certificate on the ASA, but can I still have the Microsoft CA certificate and identity certificate doing the authentication of the end users?

I may have worded some of that wrong but I think that gives an idea of where I'm trying to go.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Yes - IOS is a bit finicky about not wanting to trust internal CA-issued certificates. You can purchase and install a certificate from a well-known public CA and use that to identify your ASA. That will be the certificate bound to the ASA outside interface and it will allow IOS-based (and all other) clients to connect using that certificate.

That part is distinct from the device or user certificates on the clients. Those can still be used and, as long as the ASA has imported the server public key and trusts the Microsoft CA, both can co-exist.

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame