Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA ANYCONNECT SELF SIGNED CERTIFICATE NOT WORKING

Jesutofunmi O
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, 

So I have a local web-based application that I want accessible from remote location using Cisco AnyConnect. I am currently using ASA 5515x. This is my first time attempting AnyConnect and I intend to use a self signed certificate from my ASA. When I enter the public IP of my ASA on my web browser, it is supposed to bring me to a landing page where I will be directed to download the AnyConnect client and then authenticate. The issue is that the page times out when I enter my address on a browser which means "AnyConnect is not working yet" or my configuration is wrong somewhere. 

Please see config below and assist in ways you can. I would appreciate this. Thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Do a "show capture capi" after applying the capture. Will show you if there are packets coming in from the client to the ASA.

Also, you don't need a routing protocol if you have a static route. Also paste the sanitized output of "show route" if you can.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Rahul Govindan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Configuration looks correct to me on a quick look. Are you trying to hit "https://71.71.x.x" on your browser? Can you try to capture traffic on your machine using wireshark to see what happens when you try the connection? 

Thanks for your response Rahul. 

Currently downloading wireshark. Yes, it is when I try to reach https://71.71.xx.xx I get the "this site can't be reached" error message. I have also attached the full config on the ASA. There could be a config line I have not spotted blocking the connection. Just to mention, ICMP, Telnet and SSH (public) are disabled on the WAN (internet) leg of the ASA.

Also, apply a capture on the ASA WAN interface.

capture capo interface outside match tcp host <your client public ip> host <your ASA public ip> eq 443