cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA5505 and AnyConnect Client - Allow specific URL's

Drew T
Level 1
Level 1

I'm fairly new to the ASA world, but am pretty clued up when it comes to IOS based SSL VPN setup, so have run into an issue which I can't seem to find an answer for.

What i'm after is a way to restrict access to an AnyConnect authenticated and connected client, on a specific profile, to a list of specific websites (all on the Intranet). Everything else must be blocked.

On the IOS device, I had it fudged to pretty much retstrict access to a certain IP and port, and used a mod rewrite in Apache to re-write a URL from that IP to the host the site actually resided on. It's cludged together and working, but it's not ideal (and it's not going to allow for scaling up to what I need).

I can find plenty of references here and on the net to using regex to create block lists based on a global policy to disallow specific URLS, but I need the inverse of that, and, only applied to a specific policy group.

Is this possible on an ASA5505? Is it possible on *any* ASA?

Any help appreciated.

- Drew

11 Replies 11

Jennifer Halim
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Is this clientless (webvpn) deployment or it is full tunnel AnyConnect deployment?

With clientless, you can configure bookmark to only allow those few intranet URLs that you would like the group to have access to, then you can disable users from being able to connect directly by disabling the URL text box.

With full client, you can configure vpn-filter to only allow access to those few intranet URLs.

As mentioned, it's the AnyConnect client (in the title).

"What i'm after is a way to restrict access to an AnyConnect authenticated and connected client, on a specific profile, to a list of specific websites (all on the Intranet). Everything else must be blocked."

Do you have a sample configuration that could possibly assist me? I'm new to the ASA world, and haven't touched a PIX in well over 6 years unfortunately.