cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CISCO ANYCONNECT AND LOCAL DNS LOOKUP

Chuckg
Level 1
Level 1

I have a work computer running windows 10 and Cisco Anyconnect 4.4.  The VPN client is connecting and working fine, however every single DNS request looks like it's being duplicated on my local network.  But it is trying to resolve private network names/address' and it is obviously failing every time at my gateway.  My router is then recording these in the log.  There are literally thousands of requests per day ( I work from home) being thrown at my gateway and failing resolution.  How can I stop Cisco Anyconnect from making local DNS inquiries and only using the VPN adapter?  Please keep in mind that I'm not a network engineer and our support for my workplace are....even worse than me.  Any help would be appreciated to stop this.

6 Replies 6

Sorry this does not help. Names are resolving fine, I just want it to stop trying to resolve on the local network and only use the vpn adapter.

Your symptoms suggest that they have set up AnyConnect to use split tunneling (where your traffic to work HQ goes through the vpn and all other traffic just goes out to the Internet). Can you confirm with your support folks that this is the case? And if it is can you ask them to include the DNS traffic as traffic to use the vpn?

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Thanks Richard, is there a simple way to relay this info to them and a direct fix they could apply?