cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Force all traffic through site-to-site vpn tunnel

tsabsuavyaj
Level 1
Level 1

Many whitepapers and training videos on youtube explain how to configure a site to site vpn, but none of them explain how one would configure to force all traffic from the Remote Site to pass through to the Corporate Office to the ASA and out to the internet. Is this solution even feasible with site to site vpn or is this setup not a common practice? And how do most Site to Site VPN setups handle web traffic?  Any help is appreciated.

Take the network design below for example.

[ Internet ] ---- [ ASA ] ----- [ Corporate (R1) ] --- Internet --- [ Remote Site (R2) ]

All traffice including web traffic must go through the Corporate Office R1 to the ASA and out to the internet. 

I'm a newbie to Cisco so providing configuration examples would be very helpful.  Thanks again.

13 Replies 13

Andrew Phirsov
Level 7
Level 7

To do this you just have to use proxy acl (acl wich applied to crypto-map) like this:

Main office: access list permit ip any subnet_of_remote_office

Remote Site: access-list permit ip subnet_of_remote_office any.

with this cyrpto-acl's all traffic from/to remote site will go to the main office, including internet-traffic.

Or, different solution, you can use proxy-server in the main office, point remote-office internet-traffic through  that proxy and use more specific proxy-acls.

Hi Andrew,

The suggestion you gave brought the vpn session down. Not sure why though as it makes perfect sense. However, I changed it to the following and the vpn session was restored, but did not force all traffic to the main office.  Host behind the remote site can access the internet but only from the remote router. I'm stump. Any other suggestions?

Main office: access list permit ip subnet_of_main_office any

Remote Site: access-list permit ip any subnet_of_main_office