cancel
Announcements

Views
Helpful
Replies
Beginner

IPSLA between MPLS and S2S VPN

Hi Friends

My name is Deepthi and i work as a network admin. I am sorry if am troubling you with my message. I am working on MPLS, VPN and IPSLA.

I am new to the MPLS setups and everything and so this is getting super confused for me. Please do not mind my long mail.

I am currently working on 2 projects. 

1. Building a S2S vpn tunnel towards a AWS cloud network.

2. Building a S2S vpn as a back up when my BGP peer dies. ( planning to use IPSLA)

So, here, i had to build  a S2S tunnel from the fortigate towards the AWS cloud and then do the IPSLA from the ISR. So, it was hard and so, i decided to move my internet termination link to the ISR. 

So, once moved, i need to build both the S2S tunnel (1. Towards AWS cloud, 2. Towards different IP when BGP peer is down). 

So, My setup is like this.. 

Current setup:

core Switch --> Fortigate --> Internet cloud

<< Need a S2S tunnel here for AWS>>

Core Switch --> Fortigate ---> MPLS Router --> MPLS Cloud.

<< Need a S2S tunnel here for monitoring the BGP peer and using the back up link >>

Proposed setup:

Core Switch --> Fortigate --> MPLS Router ---> Internet & MPLS termination

<< Need 2 S2S tunnels built >> So, do i need to build them both from MPLS router or can i build one from Fortigate also.

I would like you to suggest how i should do these. Please let me know if there is any document i need to refer or any suggestion would do me a great help.

Thanks a lot. And am really sorry for troubling you.

3 REPLIES 3
VIP Advisor

Re: IPSLA between MPLS and S2S VPN

couple of questions.

BGP - you have your own AS number or you peering with iBGP with Service provider.

how is your connection with AWS ?

it is good practice to learn by making some simple network diagram and understand the flows.

BB
*** Rate All Helpful Responses ***
Highlighted
Beginner

So, here is the requirment exactly.