Views
Helpful
Replies

NAT EXEMPTION ON L2L site 2site VPN is mandatory or not for 9.6 code

vasanth77
Level 1
Level 1

Hi security experts,

Im new to real exposure for security implementation.

Do we need to NAT exempt for site 2 site vpn traffic between asa firewall with new implementation on iOS 9.6 version of asa code.

In site 2 site communication which addresses will be communicating to remote network , the real private addresses or firewall address?

Thanks in advance, 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Correct, if FW and VPN, NAT exemption is required.
Correct, if VPN concentrator only (and nat is not configured for internet access) then nat is not required.

Ultimately you need NAT exemption if there is another NAT rule in place (usually for outbound internet traffic) that could unintentionally NAT your traffic over the L2L VPN.

View solution in original post

Hi,
You might as well connect the ASA directly to the internet, using a public IP address on the outside interface.

HTH

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Hi,
General you would normally confguration a no-nat/nat exemption rule even on v9.6, so the sites would communicate with each other using their real IP addresses.

HTH

Is No-NAT and NAT EXEMPTION ARE same I guess?
Actually I had a interview question that if a new 2 ASA boxes given to you for site 2 site VPN, for that NAT exemption is mandatory or we can do without NAT exemption?
I replied I do nat exemption, nit sure what is the correct answer?

Yes, same thing really.