cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Thin client vs. SSL VPN client

jneiberger
Level 2
Level 2

I'm new to the ASA and I'm trying to figure out the specific functional differences between the thin client WebVPN approach and the full SSL VPN client approach. I've scoured every piece of Cisco documentation I can find and I haven't found the answer. I need to know because I think we're running into a problem that may be fixable by switching to the full SVC. We are currently using the thin client.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

4 Replies 4

sachinraja
Level 9
Level 9

Hello John,

SVC is the latest development in Cisco SSL VPN, which works similar to the IPSEC VPN client, you would have worked before.. the only difference is that you do not need to install any SVC client on your PC. Once you https onto the ASA box, and if the authentication succeeds, the ASA automatically pushes this client onto your PC. Once connection is established, you will get an ip address on your laptop, from the pool configured in ASA. This is the key difference. Once you get an IP, u are inside your VPN network and access any application...

with the thin client -> web vpn model, you will not be assigned any ip address.. the tcp forwarding rules are downloaded from the ASA to your client over a java page. any request to the servers specified on that list, it goes through the ssl vpn connection and the ASA PROXIES ALL THE REQUESTS... so, no ip address in this case on your laptop.. hence if you need to access any new server, it isnt possible unless u add it in the "forwarding" rules of the ASA...

This is the critical difference between the two, but i would advice you to proceed with SSL VPN Client, because the webvpn type of connectivity is facing out and will be stopped soon :)

Hope this helps.. all the best.. rate replies if found useful..

Raj

Thank you for the info. I was trying to determine this too but I have another question related to this one.