cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN between ASA and Draytek on similar subnets

MHBTP
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I have a Draytek 2926 on IP range 10.1.8.0 / 255.255.255.0 and a Cisco ASA on IP range 10.1.1.0 / 255.255.0.0

I've set up a site to site VPN but no traffic passes. I see if I ping from the Draytek to the 10.1.1 range that the byte count of the firewall RX on the Cisco goes up but that's all.

I'm guessing that this may be due to the subnet mask on the CIsco. I followed this how-to in order to set up the VPN: https://cloudrun.co.uk/networking/configuring-site-to-site-vpn-from-cisco-asa-to-a-draytek-router/

I am a novice with Cisco and use GUI only. If anyone can offer any advice I'd be grateful, thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Thanks. That didn't work either so I changed the IP addressing on the Draytek end to 192.168.11.0 and removed all settings from Cisco and Draytek for VPN and NAT/Access rules, and re-followed the first link I posted. Exactly the same results, no traffic passing.

Then I had a thought and moved the NAT rule higher up the table, and it started working!

Thanks for your help with this.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

shgrover
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello

You are right, the packet is probably going on the inside on the Cisco ASA. The route on Cisco ASA for 10.1.1.0/ 16 point to the inside interface( interface can have a different name) and not to the interface which has the vpn config. Is it possible for you to define a subset of the networks on each side, in case they are differnet otherwise you would need to nat the network that you want to go over the VPN so the VPN is triggered and your subnets are able to talk over the VPN.

Regards

Shikha Grover 

*****Please rate the helpful answers*******

Thanks for the quick reply.

Anticipating that this was the issue I've made a change.