Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN from ASA using same subnet both ends

yesitisme01
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I am looking for advice on a potential DR solution and hopefully this is the place, I am a newbie so please go easy on me:)

I am looking at a DR solution which we would ideally like to use the same IP range at dual locations due to replicating a large number of virtual machines and not wanting to change all their IP numbers in DR situation. The other scenario we have to account for is we have a number of physical boxes that have to talk to each other for replication.

I have a query around VPN access relating to potential DR changes we may make in future. I will give scenario first, apologies if this looks long but is not that bad I don’t think:

• •- We are looking at using same subnet IP range and VLAN’s at DR as our head office for our hosted DMZ’s
  • •- Certain servers in each subnet will need to talk to a related server at each site which has the matching subnet
  • •- We would give servers at both sites different IP numbers which would technically be in same IP range but at the different locations

So for example we would have the following servers in a 192.168.222.0/24 subnet that would need to communicate with each other:

ServerA at Head office 192.168.222.10 /24 IP Address

ServerB at DR 192.168.222.20 /24 IP Address

We would create a VPN at Headoffice with crypto of 192.168.222.10 Inside, 192.168.222.20 remote network and vice versa at DR.

At this point ServerA in Headoffice 192.168.222.0/24 subnet would not be able to contact ServerB at DR as it would think 192.168.222.20 is in its local subnet and would not send traffic to its default gateway to get to the remote server and the VPN would be inactive still.