Views
Helpful
Replies

5505 site to site vpn issues

deca24
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

I am working on getting a site to site VPN up between 2 5505s in a lab environment. I am putting a generic config on the ASAs, enough to get Internet and access to the ASDM. From there I am running the VPN wizard for site to site. However, after running the wizard, there is no connection between the ASAs. I am a beginner at the firewall aspect of networking, so I am not sure what to look at while troubleshooting. I am mainly just doing this so I can learn a bit more about VPNs on a site to site aspect. I have files for each site.

I am hoping someone can help me with whatever I am missing.

Thanks!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

please do this in both ASA, and share the packet-tracer output.

crypto isakmp enable outside<- remove this command 
!
crypto ikev2 policy 10
encryption aes-256
integrity sha256
group 19
prf sha256
lifetime seconds 86400
!
crypto ikev2 enable outside
!
crypto map S2SCRYPTO-MAP 1 match address VPN-INTERESTING-TRAFFIC
crypto map S2SCRYPTO-MAP 1 set peer 50.5.189.189<- are you sure that his is public ip of other ASA?
crypto map S2SCRYPTO-MAP 1 set ikev2 ipsec-proposal VPN-TRANSFORM
crypto map S2SCRYPTO-MAP interface outside
!
crypto ipsec ikev2 ipsec-proposal VPN-TRANSFORM
protocol esp encryption aes-256
protocol esp integrity sha-1
!
access-list VPN-INTERESTING-TRAFFIC extended permit ip object OBJ-SITE-A object OBJ-SITE-B
!
nat (inside,outside) source static OBJ-SITE-A OBJ-SITE-A destination static OBJ-SITE-B OBJ-SITE-B no-proxy-arp route-lookup
!
tunnel-group 50.5.189.189 type ipsec-l2l
!

tunnel-group 50.5.189.189 general-attributes<-add this

default-group-policy anyname

!
tunnel-group 50.5.189.189 ipsec-attributes
ikev2 local-authentication pre-shared-key s2stest
ikev2 remote-authentication pre-shared-key s2stest
isakmp keepalive threshold 10 retry 2

!
group-policy anyname internal <-add this
!