cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

difference betwwen identity certificate and CA certificate

Martin Lee
Level 1
Level 1

I am a beginner of ASA anyconnect setup. I look into some designs and found several certificates in configuration of ASA from ASDM. Does anyone explain to me what is the difference between identity certificate and CA certificate? How to use both kind of certificate during anyconnect vpn setup.

thanks.

Martin

9 Replies 9

rvarelac
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Martin, 

The CA certificates states for Certificate authority certificates, and are commonly used when you have certificate authentication enabled. On this Section we can install any intermediate certificate as well. 

The identity certificate are normally used for SSL identity purposes on the ASA. 

Example:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/document/12524871/install-certificate-asa

Hope it helps

-Randy-

Thanks for your reply, Randy.

Through looking into existing deployment of anyconnect, as I understand that CA certificate is used for client authentication. ASA and anyconnect client have the certificates which are issued by the same Certificate authority so that anyconnect client and ASA could trust each other.

Please correct me if i have any misunderstanding for it.

But i still am a little confused that how identity certificates work. I could see that identity certificates always are binding to the interface which is to receive ssl vpn connection request.

Hi Martin,

You are right, the CA certificates are used for certificates authentication. See an example below:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/blog/152941/anyconnect-certificate-based-authentication

The Identity certificates are attached to the interface with the purpose to make the ASA a trusted server, for example if you have an identity certificate with the CN vpn.cisco.com the Anyconnect users needs to type that domain to connect and avoid any pop-up of untrusted connections.  I hope that answer your question.

Cheers,

-Randy-