Views
Helpful
Replies

FMC, FTD, ISE, and Using dACLs with AnyConnect

jmashburn-LCT
Level 1
Level 1

Good Day All,

I am trying an evaluation of ISE 3.0, to which I am a noob, and I am running into an issue. I am wanting to deploy dACLs to users authenticating to our VPN via AnyConnect. I just have the VPN module and no other module. I'm using ISE as a RADIUS server, and I have pxGrid integrated with FMC. Not sure if all of this is relevant. Now, when I block access to a publicly available resource, I connect to the VPN just fine. When I block a private IP or subnet, then AnyConnect will immediately disconnect after connecting. There are 2 funny things about this. Firstly, when I add a private IP that isn't even configured anywhere on the corporate network, it does the disconnect. The second thing is when I look in ISE's live monitoring section for RADIUS, I can see that the attempts where successful and that there is a live session. Is it possible to use dACLs to block access to specific private IPs, or will have to use group policy ACLs to achieve this? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

jmashburn-LCT
Level 1
Level 1

So, I finally figured this out (a while ago actually, I just remembered I had this community support forum post). Been super busy.

*sigh* I didn't have CoA enabled on the RADIUS configuration on the ASA..... Kind of helps when you have that enabled when you're trying to use DACLs..... Anyways, thanks Rob for the assistance!

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

@jmashburn-LCT 

What version of FMC/FTD are you running?

Turn on debugs on the FTD and provide the output for review for conections when you fail to connect.

I'd generally use the Access Control Policy to filter traffic rather than a DACL, why do you want to use a DACL?

FMC and FTD version 6.4.0.4.

I'll try to get those logs here in a bit.