cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Hierarchical DMVPN Design Questions

Javier Zamora
Level 1
Level 1

Is there any example of a hierarchical DMVPN setup out there?

I have a couple of questions that might be answered by that based on the diagram:

DMVPN

1) What are the advantages of regional hubs vs a consolidated hub and leaving the rest to dynamic tunnels?

2) From the Regional Hub's perspective, is the regional cloud and the East/West clouds on the same tunnel interface? 

3) How will a tunnel from Spoke 4 to Spoke 1 will flow? is it a real spoke to spoke? or will it flow through the regional hub?

I have been doing phase two for several years on other networks, but I am considering doing a hierarchical phase three to replace a global MPLS network 

7 Replies 7

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

The question is a bit to do with scale.

In the worst case, how many spokes world wide do you think there might be?

Also, where is the majority of the traffic going?  US East?  Somewhere else?  All over the place?

Worldwide I am thinking in the neighborhood of 150 spokes. Most of Asia spoke traffic is to the Asia regional hub (about 50%) to the US East about 30% and the rest to the spokes.

East coast is the main DC on Americas and Europe. West coast is the DR DC. Americas and Europe spoke will mainly talk to East coast DC (70%) the rest to the spokes.

I would go with your design as is.

Thanks for the response, any examples to clarify how the regional hubs are configured?

vikasgupta2k
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Javier,

I'm also trying to accomplish the similar design what you showed in the diagram. Did you encounter any weird issues with this design, would it be possible to share any sample configs for hubs and spokes for reference.

Thanks,

Vikas

I had to lab it myself, as there are a lot of unanswered questions. The link given by vikasgupta2k is useful: