cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple VPN tunnels from Cisco ASA to different AWS regions that have identical private IP class

Hello everybody,

I'm new to Cisco and I need some guidance on this. Thanks in advance.

The scenario is the following:

I'm looking to connect the office network to multiple AWS platforms that have the same private IP class.

We already have a VPN tunnel in place from the Cisco ASA in our network to one of the AWS platforms and that is working fine.

The issue that we have is that we want to add other VPN tunnels from the Cisco ASA to other AWS platforms that have the same internal IP as the already configured AWS platform.

The way I'm seeing things is:

From the office internal network, from my box 167.165.0.25 (or any other box) I want to connect to AWS USA platform on IP 10.0.0.5

So I have a VPN tunnel between the office Cisco ASA external IP 194.x.x.x to AWS USA VPN server external IP 52.x.x.x

(source 167.165.0.x destination 10.0.0.x)

So this works.

Now I want to access from the office internal network the AWS EUR platform on again 10.0.0.5 (same internal ip as AWS USA)

So, I would add a second VPN tunnel from the office Cisco ASA external IP 194.x.x.x to AWS EUR VPN server external ip 52.y.y.y

(source 167.165.0.x destination 10.0.0.x)

But than I have a big problem if let's say I want to reach from my computer(167.165.0.x) the server 10.0.0.5 the Cisco ASA wouldn't know which 10.0.0.5 to get me to.

In fact I don't think it would let me add the rule for the second tunnel.

So what I was thinking in order to overcome this problem is:

If I want to connect to the AWS USA platform I would access instead of 10.0.0.5 the ip 10.10.0.5 (chosen by convetion)

If I want to connect to the AWS EUR platform I would access instead of 10.0.0.5 the ip 10.20.0.5 (again chosen by convention)

Than the tunnels I would have in place would look like: