Views
Helpful
Replies

Peer Address

Network Pro
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

i am setting up a LAN to LAN VPN between Cisco ASA 5520 and Juniper device. its my first time i am setting this up. What will be the peer device of my device that i need to give to the other person.. is this the outside address of my device ?

Also with the setup i have made i am getting the follwong error msg:

IKE Peer: 81.45.22.222
    Type    : L2L             Role    : responder
    Rekey   : no              State   : MM_WAIT_MSG5

Could ypou please let me know what the above means? also i was getting Type: user intead of l2l - what does htis mean as well

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi there,

So, you are both on the same LAN, with a router separating you? I am assuming that you have full IP connectivity between each device then?

The peer IP address is the IP address of the device that the VPNs will terminate at.

So, if your Cisco ASA has the IP address 172.22.1.2, the Juniper will use this as the peer address. You will need to use the IP address 172.22.2.2 as the peer address at your end, as that will point all VPN traffic at the Juniper device.

This will work as long as you have IP connectivity between the devices.

Cisco ASA(172.22.1.2) >>>>>>>>>(ROUTER)<<<<<<<<<<<

Hope this helps

Jonathan

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

jonathanaxford
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

You will need to inform the other person yuor external IP address so they can use this in their config, you should have the IP details of the other end so you can use this in your own config.

It looks like MM_WAIT_MSG5 indicates that the device is chekcing the hashes of the PSK's you are using. Make sure that the PSK is the same at each end.

Cheers

Jonathan

So just to confirm this is NOT the outside address of my firewall... this is the ip address

set to me by the ISP ? right ?

Thanks