cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Remote VPN over 2 inline firewalls

DanielMoz
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone, I'm a bit new with Cisco and networking so please bear with me. I'm aware this is a bit of a strange way of doing things, but it's what I've got to work with. I've changed the IP addresses from my real ones below as an example.

I'm having trouble with getting my VPN working as I need it.

Firstly, my network is set up as follows; I've got an external Cisco firewall connected to the internet on its outside interface (with a public IP - let's say 98.10.555.544), and my DMZ on its inside interface (IP 100.30.20.1). The DMZ contains various servers and an internal firewall connected via a switch. 

My internal firewall is connected to the DMZ on its outside interface (100.30.20.2) and my internal lan on its inside interface (100.50.40.1), in a 2 firewall DMZ layout. I'm aware there are lots of debates and opinions on whether this is the recommended way of setting this up, however this is not why I'm here.

To begin with, I configured my VPN on the internal firewall only to check that it all worked. This was successful and I managed to get a remote Ipsec ikev2 VPN working when the public IP (98.10.555.544) was set on the outside interface of the internal firewall. I did this by creating a VPN pool on the internal firewall with IP's in the internal lan range. This allowed me to connect remotely to all of my internal lan servers perfectly, and all worked as it should.