cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SA520 esp-3des esp-md5-hmac

thomas.neil
Level 1
Level 1

We need to create a site-to-site VPN with a very large customer. They provided the following list of pre-requisites on our side (they will only use pre-defined configurations)

•PSK for Internet Security Association and Key Management Protocol (ISAKMP)/IKE

•3DES Encryption for ISAKMP/IKE

•MD5 Encryption for IPSec

•3DES Encryption for IPSec

I am new to VPNs and we don't have a large budget for this project (since it is only a test and will never enter production). Using their list of pre-requisites I purchased an SA520-K9. Unfortunately they have since informed us their IPSec requirements are actually:

• ESP-3DES for encryption and data integrity

• a hash algorithm of ESP-MD5 for data integrity

Looking at their configuration file (which they sent us) it appears they are using esp-3des esp-md5-hmac.

I have configured the SA520 according to their initial specification and I get past Phase 1 ok, but get an error on Phase 2 (items in Bold obviously sanitised):

2011-06-14 10:59:34: INFO:  accept a request to establish IKE-SA: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

2011-06-14 10:59:34: INFO:  Configuration found for xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.

2011-06-14 10:59:34: INFO:  Initiating new phase 2 negotiation: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx[500]<=>xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx[0]

2011-06-14 10:59:34: INFO:  Adjusting encryption mode to use UDP encapsulation

2011-06-14 11:00:34: ERROR:  Phase 2 negotiation failed due to time up. <16digitHexNumber>:<25digitHexNumber>

2011-06-14 11:00:34: INFO:  an undead schedule has been deleted: 'quick_i1prep'.

My questions are:

- can the SA520-K9 support this configuration?

- if so how do i configure it?

- does anyone have a view on whether the requirement of esp-3des esp-md5-hmac is what is causing the problem?

- if i need a different device can anyone recommend an affordable Cisco device?

Thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

thomas.neil
Level 1
Level 1