Views
Helpful
Replies

SSL Certificates on Anyconnect

Computerwiz24
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have a ASA 5505 with a SSL VPN Setup. My question is about certificates. To be secure do i need to buy a third party Certificate or can i self sign a certificate in the ASA and add the certificate to the client so it doesn't throw a certificate error? Are self signed certificates more susceptible to man in the middle attacks? I'm no expert in certificates so what do i need to ensure a secure tunnel on my anyconnect remote access tunnel?  Thank you

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Once you have a certificate in your local trusted store it is no more or no less susceptible to man in the middle attacks.

Using a certificate issued by a trusted 3rd party CA is generally preferred as you don't have the task of manually importing and trusting a self-signed certificate. If you do the latter you also need to make sure the Common Name (CN) or Subject Alternative Name (SAN) in the certificate matches the name  by which you access the  VPN. 

Some people prefer to get a wildcard certificate (*.company.com) and use that although it is arguably less secure as the private key needs to be shared among all systems that use the wildcard. 

View solution in original post

If you only have a single public IP then you have to host one service or the other on a different tcp port. It's usually easiest to just put the SSL VPN on something else.

For instance if the VPN is at vpn.company.com then we would add something like:

webvpn
port 8443

...and have end users put in https://vpn.company.com:8443 when connecting to the VPN. 

Reference:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/security/adaptive-security-device-manager/118842-technote-asdm-00.html#anc10

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame