cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Allowing SugarSync

Anthony Thomson
Level 3
Level 3

Our Ironport S160 seems to be allowing cloud based services such as Dropbox and Amazon, but for some reason SugarSync fails to work through the WSA.  I freely admit that I'm not very experienced with this product (I didn't set it up in the first place); I could really use some help trying to figure out why this one cloud storage service fails whereas others do not.

Thanks.

5 Replies 5

Erik Kaiser
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Anthony,

The first step to trouble shooting this issue is to grep for the access logs. Take a look at my video I created on youtube. This short video will explain the steps necessary to trouble shoot the issue. Let me know if you have any questions after you review the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IKMAJfWilQ

Sincerely,

Erik Kaiser
WSA CSE
WSA Cisco Forums Moderator

Sincerely, Erik Kaiser WSA CSE WSA Cisco Forums Moderator

Okay, I followed the steps in the video, and what I got out of it was the key log entry:

"TCP_DENIED/307 0 HEAD http://updates.sugarsync.com/versioninfo?userid=3005570 - NONE/- - OTHER-NONE-MyCompany_Internal_Policy-NONE-NONE-NONE-NONE <-,-,-,"-",-,-,-,-,"-",-,-,-,"-",-,-,"-","-",-,-,-,-,"-","-","-","-","-","-",0.00,0,Local,"-","-"> -"

Now apparently HTTP 307 status refers to a Temporary Redirect.  This was not immediately helpful.  What I did realize though is that (using nslookup) updates.sugarsync.com corresponds to IP 74.201.86.21.  Having spent a lot of time looking at the configuration of the WSA, this IP was familiar to me.  It was listed under the proxy bypass settings.

So taking a chance, I removed it from the proxy bypass settings and retried SugarSync.  It now appears to work.  To me this is counter-intuitive, as I would think that anything in this list would not be subject to any scanning or interference from the WSA.