Helpful
Replies

Dialing to WebEx SIP address of SX10 from an External H323 video endpoint

VCsupport17
Level 3
Level 3

Hello Community,

I'm new with Spark cloud/WebEx.

We have a device SX10 that was activated and registered on Webex cloud and has a SIP URI given to the device by Webex. External H323 endpoint cannot be able to call the SIP UR of the SX10 Webex room device. Is this not supported?

This external H323 endpoint can be able to call any H323 with public IPs.

5 Replies 5

Jonathan George
Level 4
Level 4

I don't think that's possible. A Webex cloud registered endpoint is a SIP endpoint and it should be possible to make a SIP call to it (firewall/ports allowing). H.323 inter-op is not supported.

If you want to bridge such a call then you could use a Webex meeting, which will accept SIP, H.323 (including IP dialling).

Just to add - depending on where your H.323 are registered it might be possible to transcode from H.323 to SIP (e.g. VCS) - but the fact remains you'll have to do something to transcode between H.323/SIP - the Webex bridge would be the simplest approach.

Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for the answer. Now its clear to me.

So what are the benefits of an endpoint registered to webex cloud?

I can see some disadvantages here:

1. External H323 endpoints cannot be able to call directly on the webex endpoint and its an additional work for employees to create a webex meeting first to be able to join an external endpoint.

2. The webex endpoint cannot call directly to IP address.

3. Accessing the endpoint on its web interface is no longer working using the admin credentials. Managing the endpoint is on the webex admin on the cloud but limited settings only.

For the use cases you state then yes, you could say there are some disadvantages - hence it is important to understand those use cases.