cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

1142N radio configs to support older clients

lcaruso
Level 6
Level 6

I'm new to Cisco dot11radio configurations.

Can someone please share the commands I would use to set the 2.4 and 5Ghz radios so that older laptops can see their SSID broadcasts and connect.

Thanks in advance.

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

It depends upon the vendor.. that is.. if the adaptor supports AES-CCM encryption then we can connect with WPA-2

Regards

Surendra

===

Dont forget to rate the posts which answered your question or was usefull

Regards
Surendra BG

View solution in original post

Surendra BG
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

If you map the SSID to Radio 0, then you can use B and G clients.. that is by enmabling 1,2,5.5,11 Datarates..

the commands i guess you have already configured these..

int dot11 0

ssid

speed ?          (if you hit the question question mark you will come to know various possibilities)

end

Regards

Surendra

===

Please dont forget to rate the posts which answered your question or was helpfull

Regards
Surendra BG

configure these command and see if there is any improvement..

en

conf t

int dot11 0

preamble-short

no dot11 extension aironet

end

Lemme know if this helps..

Regards

Surendra

Regards
Surendra BG

worked??

Lemme know if that answered your question

Regards

Surendra

Regards
Surendra BG

20 Replies 20

lcaruso
Level 6
Level 6

When a wireless network has a mixed environment of 802.11b clients and 802.11g clients, make sure that data rates 1, 2, 5.5, and 11 Mbps are set to required (basic) and that all other data rates are set to enable. The 802.11b adapters do not recognize the 54 Mbps data rate and do not operate if data rates higher than 11Mbps are set to require on the connecting access point.

lcaruso
Level 6
Level 6

Is it true that older adaptors cannot see WPA2 enabled radios (aes-ccm)?