cancel
Announcements

Views
Helpful
Replies
Beginner

1852i Mobility Express showing up as "OfficeExtend"

Hi folks!

Excuse any ignorance - I'm a newbie so this could be due to something obvious.

I'm trying to set up an Aironet 1852i using Mobility Express. The part number I ordered was AIR-AP1852I-E-K9C, where I believe the 'C' indicates the Mobility Express image is pre-loaded.

Following the getting started guides for both the access point and Mobility Express itself, I've arrived at an apparently unexpected place.

The steps I've taken:

• Hook the AP into my existing network
  • Connect wirelessly to the 'CiscoAirProvision' SSID
  • Complete the configuration wizard (see 'setup.png')
  • Wait for reboot
  • Try to log in to Mobility Express

This is where everything goes wrong... no SSID appears after the reboot, but I can access the AP over a wired connection (I pre-created a static IP mapping for the AP's MAC address on my router). Instead of seeing the Mobility Express login screen, I see an "OfficeExtend' one (see 'setup2.png'). I can log in using admin/admin (which isn't what I set in the wizard) but I see a completely different UI the illustration in the Mobility Express guide - see 'setup3.png' and 'setup4.png'. Note the mismatched SSID, and that neither radios are actually enabled.

Figuring this is the 'CAPWAP Lightweight AP Software' alluded to in the guide, I duly connected via the console port and followed the instructions. The first step is to identify which conversion steps are required, however when I run 'sh version' I get the following output:

cisco AIR-AP1852I-E-K9 ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l) with 966404/662192K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID KWC202807A5
AP Running Image : 8.2.111.0
Primary Boot Image : 8.2.111.0
Backup Boot Image : 0.0.0.0
AP Image type : MOBILITY EXPRESS IMAGE
AP Configuration : MOBILITY EXPRESS CAPABLE
2 Gigabit Ethernet interfaces
2 802.11 Radios
Radio FW version : 21e6bdcdd6b8c8a2e3830b2f6ddab9b5