cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

802.11ac Wave 2 - Cat5e Cable can support speed up to 10G?

Wei Kwong Ong
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all the experts,

I have roughly read about Cisco 802.11ac Wave 2 whitepaper (http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/solutions/collateral/enterprise-networks/catalyst-multigigabit-switching/transform-workspace-cisco-catalyst.pdf). 

Due to the 11ac Wifi speed will jump to 6.8 Gigabit, hence, the network cable must be able to support higher than 1 Gigabit. 

Refer to Table 1 in the whitepaper, Cat5e cable is able to support up to 10G. I am not an expert on cables, is there any cable expert can justify it?

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

lperera03
Level 1
Level 1

With NBASE-T technology, cat5e will be able to support the faster speeds along with some of the newer Cisco switches that will be available that supports the NBASE-T technology.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/solutions/enterprise-networks/catalyst-multigigabit-switching/index.html?CAMPAIGN=Enterprise+&COUNTRY_SITE=us&POSITION=sl&REFERRING_SITE=cisco&CREATIVE=homepage+spotlight?keycode=000669573

View solution in original post

17 Replies 17

I was also looking at this:

http://blogs.cisco.com/enterprise/introducing-cisco-catalyst-multigigabit-technology-to-future-proof-your-network-for-802-11ac-wave-2

What I am thinking. We have field upgradable APs like 3702 that support AC wave2 when available. This is 1G uplink at the moment. There isn´t anything saying if this will be supported on current platforms. Will 2.5 , 5 and 10gig be supported on any of the current APs in the portfolio ?

Thats a great point .. Let me find out. 

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

And so we are now two years later and has this point already been clarified ?