Views
Helpful
Replies

Different AP MAC address shown on wireless client logs

Dmoreno69
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

I am really a rookie on wireless networks.

I am investigating an issue where people is unable to do wireless at 2 floors in a building. We are using LAPs.

I asked a person onsite to send me some logs from his Intel Proset tools. The report he emailed me shows no IP Address is being assigned to his PC.

I noticed that the AP MAC address on the logs he provided is lets say ##:##:##:2D:AC:61, I check on the WLC and the AP MAC address is actually

##:##:##:2D:AC:60

Is that an expected behavour, a known issue or something like that?

Your input will be appreciated.

Thanks,

David M.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

George Stefanick
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

David,

Yes, its the virtual mac. I actually blog in detail about this subject of the virtual mac. Read the below link and you will have your answer!

http://www.my80211.com/home/2011/5/2/wlc-how-cisco-virtualizes-the-base-radio-mac-address-on-the.html

If you find this helpful please kindly support the CSC rating system!

btw -- Welcome to the world of WiFi!

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

George Stefanick
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

David,

Yes, its the virtual mac. I actually blog in detail about this subject of the virtual mac. Read the below link and you will have your answer!

http://www.my80211.com/home/2011/5/2/wlc-how-cisco-virtualizes-the-base-radio-mac-address-on-the.html

If you find this helpful please kindly support the CSC rating system!

btw -- Welcome to the world of WiFi!

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

Cool! Many thanks George!

I will continue checking your blog, looks like tons of interesting info is available there!

Thanks for the quick and accurate answer,

David M.