cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Outdoor Access Point Coverage Area

MarwanHarb5603
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I want to design a WiFi system for an outdoor large area (10000000 sqm) which can take up to (5000000 people) in which the active users from my operator are around (400000 people) distributed homogeneous around the area. My question is how much area can be covered by a single outdoor AP? I know for indoor a single AP can cover around (150 - 300 sqm) based on the type of the building but I have no experience in outdoor, also how many users can be connected to a single outdoor AP? for indoor we usually serve between (30-50 users) depending on the customer requested throughput(2-8Mpbs), however for such outdoor environment (0.5-1Mpbs) would be acceptable.      

4 Replies 4

Martin Carr
Level 4
Level 4

A number of factors would influence the coverage that would be achievable, however the indoor ones are omni beam (so the waves are distributed 360 degrees) in an outdoor environment, you would typically  require a model with an external, directional antenna.

Martin

Haydn Andrews
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

number of considerations you need to take into account. Whats the line of site, attenuation, mounting locations, powering AP options.

Your also saying 5 million people even probing devices of that number? how many are really going to be connected, I have done very large outdoor coverage, like a small city and never seen 400,000 connected users, this is not only going to have to take into consideration the APs, but the back end side, WLC, bandwidth etc. 400,000 users connecting they wanting 2-8 Mpbs thats 800,000-3,200,000 Mbps connection. 

*****Help out other by using the rating system and marking answered questions as "Answered"*****
*** Please rate helpful posts ***

Jurgens L
Level 3
Level 3