Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP 561 - poor signal

blablubbla
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have to WAP561 in cluster. There are two SSIDs with the same name per AP. On in 2.4 the other in 5GHZ.

Even when I am standing next to one of the APs, Singe Point Setup Seasons Menu says, I have only a signal about 50-60.

If I stand about 10m away from the AP, MacBooks get a timeout and loose their connection.

What to do?

8 Replies 8

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center. Thank you for using the Cisco Community Post Forums.

Let me ask a couple of questions so I have a better understanding of your setup.

If both AP's are using the same SSID for 2.4 and 5 Ghz, how do you know which AP you are actually connecting to?

Have you tried connecting with any other type of wireless client?

As a test I would do:

1APName2_4     1APName5

2APName2_4     2APName5

Then try your same test, noting which APs your connecting to.

Please get back with results.

Also I would see about downloading a wireless scanner, like InSSIDer and do a scan of your area to see what is surrounding you. It is a free product located here.

http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/

Thanks

Eric Moyers    .:|:.:|:.

Cisco Small Business US STAC Advanced Support Engineer

CCNA, CCNA-Wireless

866-606-1866

Mon - Fri 09:00 - 18:00 (UTC - 05:00)

*Please rate the Post so other will know when an answer has been found.

Hi Eric,

I have just bought three of these APs for my company, to replace old/cheap ones which dropped off signal, occasionally. I did some research and these APs ticked all of the boxes and you guys are the goto company for networking kit, so I purchased them.