Views
Helpful
Replies

Aironet 1300 as AP

curthesher
Level 1
Level 1

Hey all,

I have recently been given the opportunity to provide a wireless network solution to a 3 adjacent condos. As condos at a beach go, they are composed of 99% concrete and glass. My ability to run cable is extremely limited as every cubic centimter of each suite is privately owned and there are no interior hallways, janitors closets, or otherwise air conditioned public access locations. My initial instinct was to utilize the Aironet 1300 given it's durable characterisics and the harshness of the potential environment (think blazing sun and hurricanes). The configuration could be with one root and many non-root access points. Does this sound reasonable? Are there caveats that I should be aware of (this is my first time with cisco hardware). Second I have been fortunate enough to acquire two 1300 series bridge/AP units for testing. I have utilized the CLI interface to reset them to what I belive is the "factory default" settings. Then I used the web GUI to make one 1300 a root and the other 1300 a non-root where both are set to use WEP and accept clients. I am concerned that I may have misconfigued something as the coverage of these Aironet 1300's barely reaches 50 feet in any direction where as my $50 Netgear router with AP reaches a good 250 feet in any given direction. Something seem wrong here. I've tried differnet channels with no appreciable improvment in performance. I've tried a generic 802.11B client card and the Cisco CB21AG-a-k9 client card. I've tried one AP (no bridge) and two AP with a bridge between the two. I still get consistently poor results. I'm not new to wireless networking, but I am completely new to Cisco products. Any ideas would be greatly apprediated.

5 Replies 5

a.kiprawih
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

Q: The configuration could be with one root and many non-root access points. Does this sound reasonable?