cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Aironet 2802 search CAPWAP

Fab_BN
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, my company has purchased an Aironet AIR-AP2802E-E-K9C. My hardware vendor tells me that this model can be used without a controller. But the hardware is looking for a CAPWAP (discovery). I saw on the Cisco forum that some people so convert their device into stadalone, but now as soon as I want to download an image, I am asked for a contract. What should I do ?
The version is 8.2.151.0 when I type sh version. I am not an expert in Cisco
Thanks for your help.

1 Accepted Solution
10 Replies 10

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Carefully read the Cisco Security Advisory called "Multiple Vulnerabilities in Wi-Fi Protected Access and Wi-Fi Protected Access II" and scroll down to the  "Customers Without Service Contracts" section.  Read very, very carefully the first two paragraphs with emphasis on the second paragraph. 

The process to convert from CAPWAP to Mobility Express can be found HERE.

Hope this helps. 

Please don't forget to rate our useful posts.

patoberli
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
This is weird, you ordered a -K9C, which means one with built in controller (that's what the C stands for). Can you check on the sticker on the AP if you really have received an -K9C model and not a -K9?
Here the ordering guide: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/wireless/aironet-1830-series-access-points/guide-c07-738528.pdf
Normally you could just power it on, wait till it's fully powered up, connect a client to the newly broadcasted SSID and configure it.
For downloading software you'll require a Cisco Smartnet contract, or your reseller can open your account directly with Cisco.

Hello and thank you for your answer. On the AP it is written K9 and on the packaging board CISCO Prod # K9C Base P / N K9. I'm lost.
I asked my dealer to take the necessary steps with CIsco.