Views
Helpful
Replies

C9800-flexconnect

ridleywoole
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to C9800 and Cisco wireless. I've got it working, works OK. But I want to replicate typical setup of Omada or Ubiquity i.e if controller goes down all continue to work as expected. Based on what I have read Flex-connect is the way to go

When I try to add basic network and switch to FlexConnect, C9800 says not recommended setup. Why is that , flex connect seem more logical to me ?

Is it possible to have external DHCP server(that will be central DHCP, coming from AD), Flex connect and if controller goes down, all to continue working as with the other brands ?

Can you please point me some good tutorial to convert from Local setup to Flex - My setup is simple - 2 APs, 1 single Vlan ?

Thank you

P.S Not sure why c9800 is so complicated, Ubiquity and Omada are so simpler. The idea that I think is that I try to use enterprise gear in a very small setup and this where problems come up. But even in large enterprise, time of large central HQ and many tunnels to it passed, so c9800 "central switching" seems so out of time and the billion options c9800 has, not sure even if it large setups they will be used

3 Replies 3

marce1000
VIP
VIP

>...When I try to add basic network and switch to FlexConnect, C9800 says not recommended setup. Why is that , flex connect seem more logical to me ?
      - Flexconnect with local switching is recommended  if the APs are on remote branches still  being able to serve clients when the controller becomes unreachable (e.g.)

>...Is it possible to have external DHCP server(that will be central DHCP, coming from AD), Flex connect and if controller goes down, all to continue working as with the other brands ?
     - Yes but remember that the DHCP and AD services  then must remain reachable too  in all cases or else use local authentication and DHCP schemes