Views
Helpful
Replies

Clients have limited connectivity

verschuerein
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys.

I'm new to this, and I started playing around in the wireless control GUI..

Before I made any changes everything was working as a charm. I was enabling and disabling WLANs and everything was fine. But one day when it clients could't connect to internet anymore, they got a valid IP, mask and gateway all from DHCP server, but it says "limited" in their devices..

What further information can I give you guys in order to help me out here?

cisco serie 5500 wireless controller - model 5508

P.S. show tech in attachments.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Scott Fella
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Might not be the WLC. Can the device work in the local lan and Internet just fails?  If you connect a wired laptop to a switch port that is on the same vlan as the wireless users, does that work. Try to eliminate things to see if it's a wireless issue or maybe a wired routing issue. 

-Scott

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Scott Fella
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Might not be the WLC. Can the device work in the local lan and Internet just fails?  If you connect a wired laptop to a switch port that is on the same vlan as the wireless users, does that work. Try to eliminate things to see if it's a wireless issue or maybe a wired routing issue. 

-Scott

-Scott

Thanks Scott for the replay.

I actually don't have any physical access to the switch, tho I can access it remotely via the web interface or telnet..

Is there any other way I can find out the source of this problem?

I should mention that this issue happened before and the internet get back in about 4 hours or so.. I thought at the time that it was a router problem, but I was wrong, because other clients in another subnet are connecting to the internet with no problems at all..