Views
Helpful
Replies

FlexConnect in a local network

B A
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have basic knowledge of FlexConnect and when it's used - branch offices and remote sites. Recently I've been told by some auditors that we should configure FlexConnect in our local network to increase wireless speed and quality. I've never heard of using it in a local network. Does it make sense to enable FlexConnect in a local network? 

Thank you for any feedback.

Btw. we have one WLC and 70 APs.

42 Replies 42

saravlak
Spotlight
Spotlight

out of curiosity, the existing setup is Aireos or ios-xe based. If Airos, first thing to be done is to migrate to ios-xe.

are auditors talking about SD-Access and not traditional flex connect by any chance.

B A
Level 1
Level 1

@patoberli There currently is no circumstance to do this, as long as the bandwidth between all APs and WLC is large enough to cope the full expected traffic.
This is what I needed to hear. Do other experts agree on this too? 

@balaji.bandi you can use any netflow and NMS to Monitor
Do you recommend any? We use Zabbix but I am not able to make it work. Any other alternative? Where can I see these numbers in WLC?

@Scott Fella Out of curiosity, have you made a decision or done any further testing?
I've made my decision but I am collecting more info for my manager. Now I am going to monitor traffic from/to WLC to verify that WLC uplinks can handle all the traffic. I would test FlexConnect on APs only in case they would insist on configuring it.

@saravlak We have 3504. As long as it's supported, we stay where we are. 

Do you recommend any? We use Zabbix but I am not able to make it work. Any other alternative? Where can I see these numbers in WLC?

I use Prime Infrastructure. I wouldn't anymore buy this as a new product. 

Cisco by now uses a mostly standard netflow format, but make sure your software actually supports Cisco WLC Netflow: