cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Limit WLAN to B/G/N and not AC

Justin Clark
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a seasoned admin, but I'm bit new to enterprise level wireless networking so please bear with me.  I've searched on this topic for quite a while and have not come up with anything.

I have a WLC5508 with SmartNET on code 8.5.140.0.  I have qty 8 of AIR-CAP3602I-A-K9 access points running the same 8.5.140.0 code level as the primary sw version.  We have two separate sprawling two-story buildings (~ 300 feet apart) and a detached "garage" used as a test cell.  All structures interconnected with LACP bonded 4x Gig fiber links.  Each building has only 3 or 4 APs plus the one out in the detached garage, so the density is fairly low.

I have installed the Cisco AIR-RM3000AC-A-K9 modular AC radios into all of these units, so technically each AP has one 2.4 GHz radio and TWO 5 GHz capable radios in them.  The built-in 5 GHz radio is A/N, the modular radio is A/N/AC.

We run three WLANs.  One for internal clients (domain-joined laptops only).  We have another for BYOD access (cell phones, etc for employees).  There is a third WLAN for outside visitors, limited to internet access only for obvious security purposes.

Each WLAN is of course on a separate VLAN and the router handles who can access what parts of the network.

What I'd like to achieve is setting the BYOD and Visitor WLANs to run on the built-in radios ONLY, while still having access to both 2.4 and 5 GHz frequencies. The WLAN for internal clients would continue to use ALL radios in order to provide the best possible coverage for engineers roaming around with their laptops.  The idea is to avoid BYOD devices from using bandwidth on the AC radios that should be reserved for "real work" (company laptops).

For clarity, the ideal layout would be:

BYOD and Visitor:  2.4 and 5 GHz, A/B/G/N, but no AC radio

Internal WLAN:  Both bands, all radios