Helpful
Replies

Manage remote APs by local WLC

yasaman64
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

this is my issue, I hope someone can help me with this:

i am new to wireless and i have two sites in two diffrenet subnets connecting together by MPLS and I need to have a wireless controller on one site to manage both local and remote APs. do i have to configure something on the controller?APs? the MPLS routers?

Thanks

26 Replies 26

Thanks, so i can configure the APs with static IPs and then creat a route to WLC ip through DG?

Correct, the commands are:

AP#lwapp ap hostname AP1240
AP#lwapp ap ip address 10.77.244.199  255.255.255.224
AP#lwapp ap ip default-gateway 10.77.244.220
AP#lwapp ap controller ip address 172.16.1.50

or

AP#capwap ap hostname AP1240
AP#capwap ap ip address 10.77.244.199  255.255.255.224
AP#capwap ap ip default-gateway 10.77.244.220
AP#capwap ap controller ip address 172.16.1.50

This can only be configured via the console port and if the AP has not joined a WLC
previusley.

If it had join a WLC previusley then you will need to reset the AP to defaults so that
you can use the commands.

Also do not forget to leave the LWAPP or CAPWAP ports open for the LWAPP tunnel to work.

CAPWAP UDP ports  5246 and 5247 and  the LWAPP UDP ports 12222 and 12223

If the WLC has code previous then 5.2 it uses LWAPP protocl for the tunnel, if the WLC
has code 5.2 or higher it uses CAPWAP for the LWAPP tunnel.

Thank you so much

No problem.

-Don’t forget to rate us and mark case as resolved accordingley-

yasaman64
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

I have a problem now, I brought up the AP and the factory default it and then gave it an ip address, DG and Ip address of the controller and there is a correct route between my sites but it still cant connect to the Controller, is there anything else i should do?

thanks.

Hey there ...

1 - From the AP from the CLI can you ping the WLC ip address