cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

new APs keep coming online in Mobility Express mode, ignoring the 8540

mat_rouch
Level 1
Level 1

I am in the middle of deploying 1815i APs in a new building and we're encountering a problem I have not seen before.  Some of the APs find and connect to our 8540 WLC normally, but sometimes one will come up in Mobility Express mode instead.  When that happens no more new APs will find the 8540.  They will sit in limbo until I find the one AP that's using Mobility Express and force it into capwap mode.  Then it and some of the other new APs will connect correctly to the 8540, but likely as not some other AP will come up in Mobility Express mode somewhere down the line and I need to go through the process again.  It's turned into a game of whack-a-mole.  Every time I fix one AP another one pops up somewhere else.  I am fairly new to cisco wireless (I inherited it from an employee who left the company) so it's entirely possible I'm just doing something wrong.  To the best of my knowledge the APs were plugged into the network straight out of the box.  The WLC in question was running 8.5.182.0 (it was upgraded to 8.10.162.0 over the weekend).

Side note: we also have 2802 APs in this building and they do not seem to be having this problem. All of those have come online normally.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

-Mat

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Arshad Safrulla
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you ask me easiest way to mitigate this is let ME accept all the AP's, let it register and then convert all at once rather doing one by one. Use the below command in ME WLC to convert

(Cisco Controller) > config ap unifiedmode WLC_NAME WLC_AP_MANAGER_IP

Speak to your local SE or VAR after verifying the BOQ and check the possibility of RMA. It's difficult to get the approvals, but my local SE's always found a way.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame