cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WLC with 2 WLANs, 1 voice @ 2.4GHz and 1 data @ 5GHz 802.11n

rmcgurn
Level 1
Level 1

I have a WLC 4400 series and am using 1142n APs.  Am planning on adding Wireless IP Phones such as 7921/7925 as well as a couple 9971's.  Is it possible to have 2 WLANs, one to connect the voice endpoints to running @ 2.4GHz and another WLAN with a different SSID for data clients @ 5GHz?  All data clients have 802.11n NICs and can operate @ 5GHz.  I have enough APs so that the lessened range of 5GHz won't pose any issues.  Ideally I'd like to see connection rates in the 240mbps-300mbps range on the data clients with data throughput rates of 100mbps+ (I don't think this ought to be an issue, I'm aware that wireless is half-duplex and that connection rates do not necessarily indicate actual throughput rates).  I am also NOT a wireless expert.  I'm still fairly new to working with the WLC and the managed APs as such.  

The reason for 2.4GHz and 5GHz simultaneously is that the voice endpoints are all 2.4GHz radios, I believe 802.11b/g.  I also want to keep voice clients separate.  This way, I believe I can optimize one WLAN for data clients without having them "suffer" so to speak by having to operate at a lower level as the voice clients.  Also, I want the voice separate for quality there (separate voice VLAN).  If I am correct, 802.11n data rates can also be achieved @ 2.4GHz, but only using the 20MHz as opposed to 40MHz width.  So I'd like one WLAN to be 2.4GHz, 20MHz (voice) and the other WLAN 5GHz, 40MHz (data).

I'd like to hav both WLANs broadcasted from all the APs simultaneously.  Am I correct that such a configuration is possible with the WLC 4400 series and Aironet 1142n APs?  WLC is running 7.0.240 btw, current stable.  I'm also starting with a clean config on the WLC.  All DHCP will be handled by an external DHCP server also.  Thank you very much for any suggestions/guidance on this.  Your thoughts are greatly appreciated!