cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can you find the yang model file with the URN?

Difan Zhao
Level 5
Level 5

Hi, happy holidays

I am new to the development world and I am studying the automation on Cisco. I have studied materials I found on Google about Yang and Netconf. I am able to follow instructions to do simple communications. One question I can't seem to find answer on is whether I can find the Yang file by the URN. 

To be more specific, I use ncclient to talk to the router. I got a list of capabilities and one is called

urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:yang:ietf-interfaces?module=ietf-interfaces&revision=2014-05-08&features=pre-provisioning,if-mib,arbitrary-names

I want to find the module and see its structure with pyang (unless there is a better way to view it). I have used git to download the whole yang module repo. Now, what's the best way to find the file? find ./ -name "*ietf-interfaces*" gives me a big list. Is there a way to find the exact Yang model file with the urn, or am I completely wrong with the process? Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

yep understood ..

Should I find the right folder based on the platform (IOSXE, XR, ...etc) and the version (16.9, 17.3, ...etc) then go through the modules in that folder?

That's how I do it .. 

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

omz
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi 

If I understand correctly .. do you mean you have downloaded all the Yang Models and looking for module=ietf-interfaces in those models?

So the find output looks similar to this .. ?

https://github.com/YangModels/yang/search?q=module%3Dietf-interfaces

Hey OMZ, I cloned the library and I did the search on my ubuntu box but I think it is essentially the same as searching on the git webpage.