Views
Helpful
Replies

First time upgrade ACI

Mahmoud
Level 1
Level 1

hello

this is my first time to upgrade ACI from current version 2.3 to 4.2 with multi pod topology

ACI is used as L2

VMM integration is used with hyper-v and vmware

most of our critical services are running from pod-1

I read a lot of documents from cisco official and blogs but still have some concerns

1.  CIMC upgrade is mandatory?
  2. can I upgrade pod-2 first from 2.3(1) → 3.1(2) → 4.1(2) → 4.2(4) then upgrade pod-1 from 2.3(1) → 3.1(2) → 4.1(2) → 4.2(4)?
  3. can fabric run with different versions (APIC use same new version but switches use different version old/new) if I plan to upgrade at two days or more?

3 Replies 3

Sig Nine
Level 1
Level 1
Hello, Mahmoud.

> CIMC upgrade is mandatory?

You also need to upgrade CIMC to get proper support.

> can I upgrade pod-2 first from 2.3(1) → 3.1(2) → 4.1(2) → 4.2(4) then upgrade pod-1 from 2.3(1) → 3.1(2) → 4.1(2) → 4.2(4)?

Yes, you can upgrade the version of each switch with different pods.

> can fabric run with different versions (APIC use same new version but switches use different version old/new) if I plan to upgrade at two days or more?

For a short while during the version upgrade work, I think it is inevitable to work with different versions. However, it is recommended to get the same version as soon as possible.

Regards,

Hi @Mahmoud 

I just want to add few details on top of what @Sig Nine and avoid confusion and potential problems in your network:

> CIMC upgrade is mandatory?

You will have to check the compatibility matrix for the target version:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/aci/apic/sw/4-x/release-notes/cisco-apic-release-notes-424.html#_Toc27555308  (miscellaneous compatibility information) - you have there a list of supported version of CIMC depending on APIC model you have.