cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Common questions in interviews

ubarnmiha
Level 1
Level 1

So I'm going to have an interview for Network Engineer soon. I always get kind of nervous because I usually get questions to prove my knowledge. Now, because of my previous jobs I have far more experience with WAN than with LAN almost nothing with firewalls, load balancers and DNS.

I was searching in Google for common questions in interviews but almost every results shows questions that I never got, like: what is a network or what LAN mean. In my experience, those questions are never asked to someone with some experience, it just unnecessary. I usually get questions like: how packets are handled in a network or why you should choose eigrp or ospf or why this happen or how to avoid that.

Honestly I am not PRO expert in regarding to networking, I have experience with multiple IT stuff but I am not an expert in an specific thing. I have more experience with WAN and troubleshooting than configuring or designing but I know the theory or have basic understanding.

Anyway, could you please help with questions and if you want and can't, answers that you usually got or ask to candidates? I am asking for answers too because sometimes I don't understand what kind of answers they expect. Any suggestions also?

Thank you so much.

3 Replies 3

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello @ubarnmiha ,

the kind of questions you can get in a job interview depends from the job position / description from the company and it is also a question of who are talking  with.

If you have a job interview this means tha your knowledge and your experience are a good fit for the position otherwise your CV , your application would have been discarded.

So if the job skills are a good fit for the job description you should be fine.

You will be asked to describe your job experience , the way you approach troubleshooting issues and so on.