Views
Helpful
Replies

Summarization on distribution-to-distribution switches

DaSt-1986
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I'm studying for my CCDP exam and came across an interesting discussion; if you create an campus network according to Cisco design guidelines with a layer three link between the distribution switches and a IGP, should you summarize the networks between these distribution switches.

Note; I'm talking about the link between the distribution switches, not between the Core and Distribution layer.

My arguments against summarizing these subnets, is that a local switch block usual doesn't contain much subnets, so summarizing wouldn't increase performance that much. Then why summarize?

I cannot find the correct answer in my CCDP book and the Cisco design documents don't provide me with an answer either. What do you think?

Daryl

3 Replies 3

DaSt-1986
Level 1
Level 1

Additional to this;

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/solutions/Enterprise/Campus/HA_campus_DG/hacampusdg.html

First, it saids

Connect distribution nodes to facilitate summarization and L2 VLANs spanning multiple access layer switches where required.

Further on it saids:

It is important to summarize routing information as it leaves the distribution nodes towards the core for both EIGRP and OSPF.

Turns out this is a classical "just try it out"-situation. I build this in Packet Tracer to see what would happen. I build the following network:

L3DisWithSummary.png

I created a routed design between the distribution and summarized the LAN networks to 172.16.1.0/24. I advertise this summary via EIGRP to the Core and between the Distribution switches. The summary route is installed in the routing table of both distribution switches:

D       172.16.1.0/24 is a summary, 00:18:01, Null0