Views
Helpful
Replies

IOSXR PIM / Multicast routing

divadko
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

i am new in iosxr and i have to handle some tv streams from TV studios that are directly connected to my cisco NCS57C3mod. Each stream with specific (different) multicast address is connected in separate vlan. For eg 10 streams are connected as trunk vlan 3000-3010 on same uplink port with multicas address 239.0.0.1-230.0.0.10.

I want to  aggregate all this streams into one downlink vlan.

What is the best way to do it?

The downlink vlan 100 is connected to headend switch thats port is configured as l3 vlan with pim sm.

The second thing is if is there any way to change the multicast ips if there will be some colision with existing multicast ranges in future?

Thanky for help!

dave

8 Replies 8

Ramblin Tech
Spotlight
Spotlight

IP multicast and PIM are strictly L3 and are agnostic to the VLAN tags. Your 10 mcast streams can all be carried over the same downstream VLAN 100 just as easily as over the 10 upstream VLANs. The downstream PIM neighbor will signal to your NCS 5700 that it wants to join groups and mcast state will be established for each of the groups signaled, with downstream VLAN 100 going on the OIL for each signaled group.

Is it too late for you to change from PIM-SM to PIM-SSM? SSM effectively eliminates group address collisions between existing mcast apps and newly added ones, as the addition of the source address makes (S,G) a unique tuple. When multiple mcast apps originate from a single source, each can have its own group address with no risk of colliding with apps from different sources.

Disclaimer: I am long in CSCO

What kind of configuration will be needed on ncs to be able to handle PIM and multicast requests from headend sw?

It is not really late to miggrate to pim ssm

divadko
Level 1
Level 1

I have done some config like:

multicast-routing
 address-family ipv4
  interface Bundle-Ether1.19
   enable
  !
  interface TenGigE0/0/0/13.892
   enable
  !