Views
Helpful
Replies

SG300-10 VLAN Questions

jsshivers
Level 1
Level 1

network.jpg

My apologies if this has been asked before, but I have some questions regarding the setup of my new switch and network. I have never worked with switches before, so this is quite a learning experience. The picture above describes the current layout of my network. Here is how I have tried to set it up, so far.

VLAN 1 [Ports 1-4, Untagged, Trunk] (172.16.1.1/24)

Workstation A (Wired)

172.16.1.2/24

Server B (Wired)

172.16.1.3/24

VLAN 2 [Ports 5-8, Untagged, Trunk] (172.16.2.1/24)

Server C (Wired)

172.16.2.2/24

Server D (Wired)

172.16.2.3/24

Server E (Wired)

172.16.2.4/24

Server F (Wired)

172.16.2.5/24

VLAN 3 [Ports 9-10, Untagged, Trunk] (192.168.1.1/24)

Laptop G (Wireless)

DHCP via Router

Laptop H (Wireless)

DHCP via Router

Laptop I (Wireless)

DHCP via Router

Wireless Router

192.168.1.254/24

Now, my goal is to have all 3 VLANs be able to talk to each other but also have VLAN 1 access the internet, through the wireless router. In the future I would also like Server B to be able to expose services (http & ssh) to the outside. VLAN 2 shouldn't have internet access at all. I know I can add static routes to the wireless router, if need be. All three laptops, can access the internet through the wireless router, without any problems.

So my questions are:

1) Is there anything inherently wrong with the design of this network? If so, what could be changed?

2) Is VLAN 3 really necessary?

3) What would I need to do, to get the 3 VLANs communicating with each other?

4) What should the gateway be, to get VLAN 1 internet access?

5) What would I need to do, to expose Server B services to the outside?

6) What static routes do I need to add?

Thanks in advance!

Jer

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Jeremy,